Reviews

best of houzz 2013best of houzz 2014

 

 

 

 

Discover What Our Clients Are Saying!

 

Five Star Rating on Houzz.com
Relationship: Client
Project Date: August 2011
Project Price: more than $100,000
“Scott at KLS Homes was outstanding to work with during our major home renovation. Scott has a great eye for design, is creative and thorough in his work. Throughout the project, Scott was timely with his communication and went above and beyond to keep us abreast of any updates/changes. Scott was conscientious of deadlines and flexible, when needed. Scott was respectful of our overall budget and tried to find ways to maximize our investment along the way. We found Scott, as a business owner and as an individual, to be trustworthy and of great integrity. We could not be happier with the finished product and feel fortunate to have chosen KLS Homes for our project.”

Five Star Rating on Houzz.com
Relationship: Client

Project Date: March 2014
Project Price: $10,000-$49,999

“Scott with KLS Homes was a pleasure to work with. The communication throughout the process was continuous which helped with all of our planning. The craftsmanship was very good and they completed the job in a quick and timely manner. Their pricing was very fair. I would certainly recommend KLS Homes and will always reach out to them when I have projects that need to be completed. Thank you for the job you did.”

Five Star Rating on Houzz.com
Relationship: Client
Project Date: October 2013
Project Price: $10,000-$49,999″We hired Scott to add a bathroom/laundry room on our 1st floor and remodeled a room on our 2nd floor. He came to our house and we worked out a plan. He has knowledgeable and helpful in nearing down the details. The work was done in a timely matter and was of good quality. When unexpected problems arouse we were able to work out a solution that we were all in agreement with. His estimate was right on track.”

Relationship: Client
Project Date: January 2014
Project Price Range: $10,000-$49,999
“Scope of Work:
-Installed new front and back doors with storm doors.
-Installed 16 new windows.
-Installed new vinyl siding on the exterior.
-Rebuilt our stairs to make them quiet.
-Installed soffit on our front and back porch to cover the rafters and clean up the look.
-Installed new gutters.
-Cleaned up the electric on our back porch and covered in under the siding for a neat look.
-Installed new exterior lights for the front and back porch.
-Repaired a roof leak.

Description:
We had Scott’s company come in to do all of the above repairs to help bring some major value to our house. Our house was built in 1928 originally and when we purchased it, it was in need of many things to update it as it looked like the last time the house had been updated was in the 60’s.

Due to some of the weird ways our house had been added on over the years, the windows and doors were not a standard install and required a little more manipulating than a newer house. KLS came in and installed all of these windows and doors and sealed up a lot of air leaks that we had in the past. I’m sure our house is much more efficient now due to these things alone.

During the project I asked KLS if they could rebuild our stairs that go to the second story because the original person that made them only used nails and thin boards so they creaked and made loud noises when you walked on them. They brought in thicker boards, screwed them down and glued them and they are perfectly silent now. I also asked them if they could repair a roof leak that we had. They added more flashing that a previous roofing company had missed. These two items were not part of the original project but they did them for us anyway and did a good job.

Next they ripped off all the aluminum siding we had that was really old, dirty, and faded. They wrapped the house and put up new vinyl siding. While they were doing that they put up soffit on the front and back porch to clean up the look. Finally they put up new gutters for the whole house. Between all of those things the house looks amazingly different now! It’s like a new house. I couldn’t be happier.”

Five Star Rating on Houzz.com
Relationship: Client
Project Date: January 2014
Project Price: $1,000-$9,999
“There are several characteristics that I value, and KLS Homes & Improvements embodies all of those characteristics. First, good character, Scott and the contractors he works with are honest and hard working. Second, communication, Scott is easily accessible and responds to phone calls and emails in a timely manner. Third, flexible, KLS has been more than willing to come in at times that work better for our agency, which makes having remodeling done less intrusive and disruptive. Finally, accommodating, if we have had a need, no matter how big or small, KLS has been able to meet our needs. Overall, if you have a project and you have a tight budget. KLS Homes & Improvements is your company.”

Five Star Rating on Houzz.com
Relationship: Client
Project Date: October 2008
Project Price: $50,000-$100,000
“KLS Homes was recommended along with a couple other home builders when we were thinking about adding on to our home. After playing around with our own design ideas we knew what we wanted and made appointments to meet with contractors. Immediately we could see that Scott really made an effort to honor our wishes but also professionally offered his advice. He was thorough, conscientious, and very involved with every step along the way. The subcontractors he used were professional and made sure we were happy with the ‘details’. (blending ceilings to match, outlet and wall placement, cleanup) We are still very please with the decision we made to add on to our older home and would highly recommend KLS.”

Five Star Rating on Houzz.com
Relationship: Client
Project Date: July 2013
Project Price: more than $100,000
“They remolded our entire building, over 8000 square feet. Scott was great to work with and completed things in a timely fashion. We made adjustments as the project allowed and really liked working with them. I have used them for other projects as well and have recommended them to others I know.”

Five Star Rating on Houzz.com
Relationship: Client
Project Date: January 2013
“We hired them to install a new garage door and opener. They also had to resize the opening. The door fits perfect and looks awesome. The opener works fantastic too!! We couldn’t be happier with the looks and operation of our new garage door……Its perfect!!!”

Five Star Rating on Houzz.com
Relationship: Colleague
Project Date: January 2011
Project Price: more than $100,000
“Our real estate office has referred several customers to KLS Homes and Scott Shrider. Over the years our customers have been very pleased with the level of professional service offered. Often time customers reply to our office regarding high level of quality service they receive when working with Scott and his team. In the market for re-sale of existing homes, KLS Homes are bringing high values based on the top drawer finishes, quality construction and attention to details. We will continue to refer our new construction business along with customers needing remodel service or additions to KLS Homes, knowing they are dollars well invested in their homes. With over 19 years in this industry as a working broker/owner, I have seen many builders come and go. I see KLS Homes as being in the industry for the duration of the market.”

Five Star Rating on Houzz.com
Relationship: Colleague
Project Date: September 2011
Project Price: $50,000-$100,000
“Scott made the effort to contact us as the Civil Engineer and Surveyor for the subdivision of Longmeadow. He wanted to understand the drainage plan for the roadway as it affected the homesite he was working on. It is very unusual for a home builder to see the bigger picture of how the homesite fits into a subdivision or condo. I was impressed with Scott and his professionalism.”

Five Star Rating on Houzz.com
Relationship: Client
Project Date: June 2008
Project Price: $1,000-$9,999
“The quality of work was excellent and time effecient! This is an outstanding company! Very affordable. Will hire this company again.”

Five Star Rating on Houzz.com
Relationship: Client
Project Date: October 2008
Project Price: $50,000-$100,000
“From start to finish, and even with follow ups, Scott was extremely professional, easy to work with, and interested in meeting our needs. We were able to create not only the kitchen of our dreams, but also add a mud room, laundry room, put on new siding and a new roof within our time frame. Scott provides a wealth of ideas and guidance. He is hands on and truly cares about making sure his customers are happy. We were very impressed by the fact that even a year after the job was finished, Scott came back to help us when we needed him. We highly recommend working with KLS!”

Five Star Rating on Houzz.com
Relationship: Colleague
“We have had the pleasure of working with KLS Homes for five years on several projects. We find Scott to be very professional and respectful of his customers needs and wants. We would be happy to recommend KLS Homes to prospective clients.”

Five Star Rating on Houzz.com
Relationship: Client
Project Date: October 2011
Project Price: more than $100,000
“Scott/KLS Homes built a new home for us. I am so glad we hired Scott for our home. It was a huge decision for us to even consider building. The house ended up being 3,000+ sq. ft. in size. Scott was very helpful with suggestions re: choices to be made – from paint color to window placement to room arrangement. He was on time with most deadlines. We did go over on budget – some of which was due to our choice of fixtures. All in all, we are very happy with our home.”

Five Star Rating on Houzz.com
Relationship: Client
Project Date: June 2010
Project Price: more than $100,000
“KLS Homes did a great job building our home. KLS was available, at all times, for questions, concerns and guidance from the original estimate through completion of the build. If there were any changes that needed to be made or corrections to be addressed, Scott and his crew took care of them immediately. As a first time home builder, and hearing all of the warnings and horror stories from others that have had homes built by other companies, I didn’t want to build a home, wanted to purchase an existing home. HOWEVER, we are very happy that we chose KLS Homes and would definitely hire KLS Homes again!”

Five Star Rating on Houzz.com
Relationship: Client
Project Date: September 2012
Project Price: $1,000-$9,999
“Great company to work with. Ours was a small deck rebuild. They were very professional and willing to work within budget constraints. They didn’t rush through the job but were diligent about staying true to the timeline. I would be happy to recommend KLS Homes & Improvements. Scott takes the time to listen and wants to be sure the home owner is happy with the results…and we are.”

Five Star Rating on Houzz.com
Relationship: Colleague
Project Date: June 2012
Project Price: more than $100,000
“KLS Homes is a highly professional Builder. They use quality materials and Craftsmen. Our experience, all deadlines have been met and within budgets. We will definitely continue to work with KLS Homes.”

Five Star Rating on Houzz.com
Relationship: Colleague
Project Date: June 2012
Project Price: $10,000-$49,999
“As a custom installer of Security, Home Automation and Complete A/V packages, we prefer to partner with a builder that cares about his clients. From the first time that I spoke with Scott I could tell he wanted only the best for his customers. It was thru the build process that his integrity was was proven to be unguestionable and his pursuit for quality was second to none. Does a great job for his customers and as for a sub contractor, very easy to work with.”
Allen
Sales Manager

Five Star Rating on Houzz.com
Relationship: Client
Project Date: July 2012
Project Price: $50,000-$100,000
“Our home was built in 1947. In 2005 when we moved in, it had been slightly updated to flip. Needless to say it left a lot to be desired. After a small update of the rest of the house, we still needed the kitchen and utility room updated. We hired KLS Homes to do the renovation after we saw the craftsmanship of a few of the homes that were either built or renovated by them. The scope of our renovation included a new kitchen with custom cabinets, farmhouse sink and new appliances, making the utility room an extension of the kitchen, which is now called the butler’s pantry complete with a glass front cabinet and an energy efficient washer and dryer behind custom cabinets with granite counter tops throughout. KLS Homes did a very professional job. We were pleased with the promptness of all the skilled craftsmen that worked here. They were very friendly, great at problem solving and always had time to answer questions. We would highly recommend KLS for any building or remodeling project.”

Five Star Rating on Houzz.com
Relationship: Client
Project Date: April 2007
Project Price: more than $100,000
“Great Job! Construction was started and finished in a Four month period. KLS Homes, knowledge and attitude was outstanding. Very nice work. Deadlines were on schedule.
Would highly recommend them for any new construction and or remodels. They are fair and honest to work with. Thank you KLS Homes for our new home!”

KLSHomes2014Reviews